INTERVIEW WITH IFFS 2017 DESIGN STARS : MASSIMO CAPPELLA FROM UNITED KINGDOM

INTERVIEW WITH IFFS 2017 DESIGN STARS : MASSIMO CAPPELLA FROM UNITED KINGDOM

Interview With IFFS 2017 Design Stars : Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom
IFFS 2017 : This is an exclusive interview series wherein The Interior Directory has discussed the concept and approach of the young designers from IFFS 2017 Singapore behind showcasing some of the best furniture pieces which would be on display during the show in early March 2017. This is an interview with Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom.
Interview With IFFS 2017 Design Stars : Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom
TID : What is your approach to design and how does it translate to your furniture designs?
MC : My approach to design is in the most of the cases very instinctive. I have got the great luck of having amazing workshops available where I can prototype all of my creations completely by hand. From my prospective design is a major expression of craftsmanship. So I constantly train myself to be a better craftsman in order to be able to understand manufacturing further and further. Once I gain new knowledge in terms of making I can eventually unlock precious access to new possibilities for my pieces which I can then explore to create new shapes.
Interview With IFFS 2017 Design Stars : Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom
TID : Tell us about the role of the material with regard to your design idea?
MC : Alongside techniques of making, materials are the fundamental starting point for each of my designs. I find extremely inspiring handling raw materials, analyze how they behave and see what they suggest me to do with them in accordance with the machines I have available. I love the idea of having a raw piece of material which I can manipulate to create a precious piece of furniture. Wood is probably my favorite material because grain and colors make each single piece unique and non-replicable. Every piece of wood lives is alive, changing color and shape with time and I find this aspect very romantic.
Interview With IFFS 2017 Design Stars : Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom
TID : What is your perspective on this year’s IFFS and how does it affect your approach to your design?
MC : The Massimo Cappella Studio is a young firm funded in London in 2015. Coming for the first time to exhibit in an Asian country would be a great chance for me to see how such a different market would react to my products. I am a genuine lover of the crafts that several oriental countries carry from centuries and as I take inspiration from it I also feel challenged to deliver the finest making and aesthetic quality with my furniture at the IFFS 2017.
Interview With IFFS 2017 Design Stars : Massimo Cappella from United Kingdom
TID : What will you be displaying at IFFS 2017 ?
MC : The Massimo Cappella Studio will be exhibiting four pieces from the NUDE collection at the IFFS 2017. Two seats, the wing bench PA_31 with its characteristic wing shape and the SG_Speciale stool with the elegantly hand carved mahogany saddle. Aside of these two strong pieces there will be the brand new Bluetooth table speaker AL_17 and the classic floor lamp LA_27. The whole collection has been developed around the use of triangular metal wire elements to form the legs and wooden tops using solid mahogany wood. The Nude collection, as the name itself suggest, wants to visually celebrate the beauty of the nude materials and the quality of the manipulations done to the materials such as welds which have purposely left visible.
Photo Courtesy : IFFS 2017

 

Published by

theinteriordirectory

World's Most Stylish Interior & Décor Magazine, Design & Architecture News Platform and Curated Global Community of Design Lovers.

Leave a Reply

